That’s right, I don’t eat meat…now move on!

12 May

It has now been about 4 months since I stopped eating meat. I still eat fish, but I refer to myself as vegetarian, mainly because I despise the word “pescatarian”. I don’t know why, I just do. The past 4 months have been great for me. I have felt healthier, had more energy and just feel better about myself in general. The only problem that I’ve experienced in this time has been people’s astonishment that I don’t eat meat. And the dreaded question….WHY.

Here’s a typical scenario for you.

Out to dinner with friends….

Friend: Ohh you want to split the chicken lime tacos?
Me: No, thank you. I don’t eat meat.
Friend: REALLY???
Me: Yes, really.
Friend: Since when??
Me: It’s been a few months now.
Friend: Why??
Me: Because I just don’t want to.
Friend: But isthere a reason…...

It literally happens like that every single time. And it REALLY bothers me. I am so sick of the question. Why do you care so much if I don’t eat meat? Is it a requirement that as a human being I have to eat meat? I don’t feel like I need to provide a reason for the choices that I make, especially when they are not affecting anyone but me! But yet for some reason, everyone feels the need to find out more. As if I need a reason. I don’t ask you why you do eat meat, so don’t ask me why I don’t!

I could say it’s because I love animals or because the texture grosses me out or the whole concept gives me a slight bout of the heebie-jeebies, but instead I always say because I just don’t want to. Because that is the truth! I have no desire to cut into a whole chicken or chomp down on a burger. I just don’t. And I wish people would just leave it at that….and move on.

Rant over.

11 Responses to “That’s right, I don’t eat meat…now move on!”

  1. attriel May 12, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    but … WHY???

    there’re two possible responses.
    1) “because”
    2) go into explicit and graphic detail about animal living and slaughtering conditions in commercial mass farms.

    of course , that second option will cost you some acquaintances after they get sicked out, can’t eat their burger after finding out how they were crammed together, more diseased than the average city dwelling rat, force fed, lived in their own feces, crammed full of drugs to make them not die from their own illnesses, then slaughtered with a machine that doesn’t always make a distinction between meat, bone, blood, and excrement.

    of course, i never liked those people anyway.

    I suppose there’s an option 3) “I’m allergic to meat proteins in land-dwelling animals”

    And pescetarian is a perfectly good word. don’t dilute the meaning of “vegetarian”! (not that anyone will understand the term “pescetarian” mind you, including your doctor … maybe a nutritionist might), and how can you pass up the opportunity to tell people that you eat those who ask pesky questions? pesky-tarian!

  2. Layla May 13, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    I was a vegetarian for about a year. No specific reason, I just decided to see how long I could go without eating meat once and, as it turns out, I could go a really long time. But it freaked everyone out. Some people even got ANGRY about it, spouting off crap about animals being there for our food supply and calling me a passive hippie. Um. I just….tried something new. It’s amazing how such a simple thing can invoke such reactions in people.

    • suburbianbliss May 16, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      I dont understand why people would be angry about it!! Its true, people are just weird!

  3. kelsey May 14, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    I’m the same as you, no meat, but fish and I just say vegetarian too because it’s easier. And, also just like you people are always shocked to hear about it. It’s funny. They always make me pick the restaurants because they think I can’t eat anywhere even though that’s not true at all!

    • suburbianbliss May 16, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      No that isnt true! We just have to think a little more about what we are putting into our bodies…which I like!

  4. Rach @ This Italian Family May 17, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    I think there is a part of human nature that makes us want to be sure that we are “normal.” So when someone makes a choice that is different than what we consider “the norm” we are naturally curious to know if they are the “weird one” or if we are. Every time I tell someone that I don’t eat sugar they immediately start making assumptions like that I’m diabetic or that I am trying to stay skinny by avoiding sugar. But people ALWAYS ask. Normally I don’t mind, but if I don’t feel like explaining my heart condition then I usually just say, “Oh no thanks” without adding anything about not being able to have sugar. So in your case, it would be something like “Oh splitting something would be great, but I think the Spaghetti with Marinara Sauce looks great. Interested?” Obviously it’s not ideal that people are going to be nosy and ask, but I just write it off as human nature.

  5. Steph May 18, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Amen to that! I haven’t eaten red meat/pork for about 10 years now.. and people STILL feel the need to ask why. I’ll tell them, whatever, if they really want to hear it.. but I agree; why does it matter? It’s my choice, I’m perfectly happy with it, go away ;)

  6. happenstancebride May 22, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    I gave up meat for Lent once. I got strange looks.

  7. bianca May 24, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    My mom was a pescatarian for most of her life, so we grew up mostly on that diet. Oftentimes I do eat like a vegetarian and I sometimes get flack for it, but overall I know what works for me and what makes me feel good, so I just try to brush it off or not openly acknowledge that I am purposely avoiding meat. I still do eat red meat and chicken, but after getting food poisoning from beef a couple weeks ago, I was thisclose to swearing it off for good!

  8. Jenna June 4, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    I don’t socialize very often which saves me from this (and a lot of the people I socialize with read my blog so they know my views :) ), but I have faced this at times, and anticipate facing it a lot more when I move home for the summer. I know my parents know that we don’t eat a lot of meat, and when I do that it needs to be sourced in a way I feel comfortable, but I still don’t know how to address it with others. Most of the time I just stick with calling myself a vegetarian, like you, even though it’s not technically correct. It’s easier than the 10 minute conversation that could potentially leave them feeling judged or in a huff!

  9. Rajni June 21, 2011 at 4:16 am #

    I stopped eating red meat awhile ago and people still ask me why! Then, when I say I don’t want to, they’ll go on to ask about particular foods and ask if I miss them (which I don’t). My fiance is a vegetarian and people are always asking me what we eat when we go out!. I think it’s the funniest thing considering the many non red meat and non meat options.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

