Handmade at home

27 May

I don’t consider myself to be an extremely crafty/artsy person, but I think sometimes I underestimate that. Maybe it’s just that I haven’t let my creative juices flow for a long (very long) time so they need a little tune up!

Recently I’ve been back into crafting and creating and it has been making me really happy. Of course, not everything I’ve done is perfect or even complete, but it feels good to make something with my own two hands. Something that I have either thought of completely on my own or been inspired to make by something else…most likely something I’ve seen on Pinterest.

To give you an update, here are just a few of the things I’ve made recently.

First is the paint chip heart print. This was SO easy. I collected colorful paint chips from Home Depot, cut them into hearts of the same size, taped them onto a sheet of white printer paper and put it in frame I already had. Eventually I want to either get a new frame or spray paint this one white.

The second thing I did was refurbish a little wooden box I found at a thrift store for under a dollar. It was originally a crackled wood  that I spray painted white. Once it was dry, I used a heart cut out of a subway map that I had and decoupaged it onto the front of the box. I love this little box so much! And I love Manhattan!


The next project, which took me about .2 seconds, was framing some dandelion paper I had left over from stationery I used during our wedding. I would like for the frame to be white eventually (I want all white frames at some point) but for now I kind of like the contrast of the blue and green and how colorful it is. I learned that framing stationery is one of the simplest ways to have a brand new piece of “art”.

Last, but certainly not least is the wine bottle I turned into a decorative piece/occasional vase. I say occasional because it is rare that we have flowers in the house since our cat Eddie loves to eat them. But even on its own I love the pop of color this adds to the room! All I did was take an empty bottle of wine, soak it in warm water and dish soap for a little while then peel off the label and clean it off. So simple for such a fun result!



I hope you enjoyed all the crafts I’ve been working on! This post has been several months in the making. Next time I will show you my biggest (and most fun) craft project to date…simple, cheap and fun DIY magnets!

19 Responses to “Handmade at home”

  1. AlwaysWright May 27, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    *GASP* love the hearts. Do you think what you call paint chips we call paint swatches in Britain? I want one!

    • suburbianbliss June 2, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      Yes, I think they are probably the same thing. Just little rectangles/squares of color. There are SO many colors to choose from! And the hearts are actually a lot brighter in person too.

  2. Amanda May 27, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    Oh my goodness the heart paint chip one is SO CUTE! I might have to copy that one!

    • suburbianbliss June 2, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      You should! I’ve also seen it done with just circle cut outs or butterflies. Are you on Pinterest?

  3. Kate May 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    You are SO crafty and creative, Clarie! I love it all! : )

    • suburbianbliss June 2, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      Thanks KBF! We should have a crafting party sometime!

  4. Layla May 27, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Pinterest is seriously giving me a crafty itch, and I’m not a crafty person! It’s definitely inspiring. :)

    • suburbianbliss June 2, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      I wanted to start a blog that was all about DIYs inspired by Pinterest but then I realized Im not rich and dont have endless resources!

  5. Rach @ This Italian Family May 28, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    So I know you said it was super quick, but I LOVE the dandelion print and frame combo! It’s so pretty! :)

    • suburbianbliss June 2, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

      Thank you so much! I got the frame years ago at Target or Home Goods (cant remember) and that paper was just leftover. I’ll probably change it out at some point and put something new (and maybe brighter) in that frame!

  6. Steph May 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    You’re seriously crafty! I loveee the Manhattan box.. you’re a girl after my own heart!

    • suburbianbliss June 2, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      Thank you! The manhattan box was probably the 2nd easiest one to do!

  7. happenstancebride May 28, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Was that RELAX reisling??

  8. Mrs. JYW May 31, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Adorable! You’re giving me the itch to craft/diy/decorate!!! :P

    • suburbianbliss June 2, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      Do it!! Except now that its summer I’d rather be outside! Good thing about spray painting is it must be done outside!

  9. monica June 8, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    LOVE the paint-chip heart art! I am going to make a gallery wall soon, I think I shall make one, too! Thaks for the inspiration!

    • suburbianbliss June 8, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      Thank you! I want to make more paint chip art because its so easy, cheap and colorful!

  10. Sarah G June 10, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    love all these DIYS! It reminds me of how much I need to get back to posting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

