SNOW!

16 Dec

The other day I had heard that we could potentially get some snow today. We haven’t had any snow yet here in NoVA (except for a light dusting last week) so the talk of today’s potential storm was made to be a big deal. This morning I went to work and heard that there was a Winter Weather Advisory for our area. However, I knew it was only going to be 1-2 inches worth so I didn’t get my hopes up about work getting canceled. Well, the snow started around 9:30 AM and didn’t stop. It was accumulating a little but not that much so I expected to have to stay at work til the normal time. I even bet my coworker 15 push ups that we wouldn’t get out early!

At 11:50 my coworker and I decided to go to Panera. We always get hungry very early on in the day so we were ready to eat by that time! Right as I was cleaning the snow off my car, one of the managers came out to the parking lot to tell us they were about to dismiss us for the day. We immediately went back inside and packed up as quickly as we could – we were going home early!!! Driving home was a lot easier in my new car (2003 Nissan Murano) than it was in my old car (2005 Ford Focus) but the roads were TERRIBLE. 66 east was not plowed well at all. It took me over an hour on this stretch of my drive! 495 was not bad at all – it seemed like it had only rained! And then I got into our neighborhood and it wasn’t plowed even a little! I had to work from home until 4:00 but it was definitely an awesome surprise to get out that early!!!

Here are some pictures of our house in the snow….

our house in the snow!

 

our street that is not plowed (and still isn’t several hours later)

 

our deck and backyard covered…and in need of landscaping!

2 Responses to “SNOW!”

  1. Kyle December 17, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    Whoa, whoa, whoa! You left a big part of the story out… did you do your pushups?

    • suburbianbliss December 18, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

      Lol Kyle – I actuallly only did 7 of the push ups!! The deal was 7 on Thursday and 8 on Friday. So I did my 7 immediately but then on Friday my coworker said I didnt have to do the rest!

Leave a Reply

