11 things

19 Dec
So I just heard about a blog project called Reverb10 – I wish I had known about it sooner because it seems really interesting! Anyways, I saw one of the prompts and really wanted to do it. I think it’s great to reflect on yourself from time to time. It helps you to grow and mature and helps us to find out who we are. I will probably do a few of the other prompts throughout the rest of December – we’ll see!  

Prompt: 11 Things. What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life? (Author: Sam Davidson)

1. Not cooking dinner each night – I never cook. And I feel really guilty about it! I always imagined that I would be a wife and mother who would make healthy meals for her family. I would have several go-to meals as well as try new things from time to time. This is how I was raised and I loved that my family had a well balanced meal every night for dinner. I hated the kitchen at our townhouse so I really didn’t have a desire to be in there cooking. Once we moved to our new house I immediately felt more grown up – and felt like I needed to take care of us more. It made me realize that in just a few years we will be having kids and I want to feel ready at that time. Part of that for me means feeling like I am ready to take care of children – by keeping my house clean, being more patient with Noah, and of course, cooking dinner and buying healthy food that we will enjoy eating. I don’t think it will that hard to eliminate this issue. We have already been using the slowcooker and cooking simple yet healthy meals. We live very close to the grocery store now so it is not an issue to go on a whim. This will help us to be healthier and have more energy!

2.  Red Bull – I think it’s pretty clear why I need to eliminate this from my life. It really doesn’t have any good qualities to it. I basically use it as a crutch because I’m lazy. And that is terrible! There are other ways for me to get my energy up. Eating an apple has a pretty good amount of caffeine AND is healthy for me. I can try to go to sleep earlier or drink different types of teas. Getting rid of red bull from my life is going to make me feel better about myself and become less dependent on any type of substance.

3. SO much computer time – I am ALWAYS on the computer. Not only am I in front of  a computer for 8 hours a day at my job, but then I come home and spend several hours on it there. I have no idea what I am doing for countless hours every single day. But it’s not healthy and I don’t want to look back on my life and have nothing to remember because the majority of the time I was just browsing the internet. I am going to set a cap of how much I can be on the computer each night. I have done a really good job recently about not watching as much TV shows, but I basically just replaced that with going on the computer! Not good! Instead of being on the computer, I am going to read a book, play sudoku, talk to my husband, make dinner, take the dog on a walk, play with the cats, write in my journal (the pen and paper one), or anything else. I hope this will help me to get a little more serious about a real career and hopefully find my passion/hobby.

4. Not taking Nixon on a walk every night – There is no reason for us to not take Nixon on a walk every single night. It being cold out or us being tired are not good excuses. Taking him on a daily walk will help me to feel better about myself. It is good exercise and it helps keep my energy level up. It helps to keep me in shape as well. Walking every day also helps Noah and I to stay connected. Some of my favorite times with Noah are just on our walks with Nixon. Sometimes we spend extra long walking and talking and I love that. It’s our time together that we are taking care of ourselves and our dog and that we are spending without any other distractions.

5. Unhealthy meals or lunches – Yes, Panera is great. It’s great because it’s easy to go to for lunch during work and it’s great because it tastes good. But other than that, it’s not so great. It isn’t healthy and it definitely isn’t cheap! The amount of money that I spend there over time is probably more than I want to know. And that goes for the amount of calories I’ve consumed there too. This one is pretty easy to eliminate. I have already gotten a lot better about bringing my lunch every day. It helps that we have been eating at home each night because I’ve just been taking in left overs.

6. Being short with Noah – It’s easy for me to get annoyed quickly and turn into different person. And I hate that. I need to work on being more patient, with Noah and in general. I don’t need to be this way anymore because it only puts stress on our relationship. Many times I am irritable not because of something Noah said or did, but rather by some outside occurrence or stressor. Then, because I am around him all the time, I take it out on him. I need to get rid of that in 2011 so that our marriage can stay strong and pleasant!

7. The overload of laundry – Basically since we have lived together, Noah and I have had a never-ending pile of clothes permanently stuck on our bedroom floor. There have been “good” reasons for this in the past. In our first apartment together, in Hartford, our laundry room was down the hall. It was inside of our apartment building, but we just hated walking down that hall and having to pay a few quarters every time we had to do a load. Luckily at that time we had a TON of closet space so we could easily hide all of these clothes. Our bedroom floor really wasn’t that littered with dirty laundry. In our second apartment, in Arlington, the laundry room was downstairs. This meant having to walk outside, down 2 sets of stairs and into the creepy basement of the building…AND having to pay a few quarters! We hardly ever did laundry here. We would try to go as long as possible without having to do it….you can imagine what our bedroom floor looked like then – considering we had a small walk in closet, but it was not enough to contain our clothes! In the most recent apartment we lived in, in Vienna, we had a washer and dryer in our house that was just in the storage room in the basement. I hated going down there and it was just dirty – so much crap was in that room. Not only that, but we had very little closet space so our bedroom always looked like a tornado just hit! Well, this new house has the washer and dryer directly next to the bedroom. It is not a laundry room so it cannot get messy. I have already gotten almost all the laundry done that we brought over from moving over all the clothes. Once it is done I am going to continue to do the laundry on a regular basis. Now that our washer and dryer are so convenient, there is really no reason not to do it! This will change our lives because our bedroom will finally be something that is peaceful and somewhat of a sanctuary and an escape. I am really looking forward to that!!

8. Having low self-confidence – I am going to be more proud of who I am – both physically and mentally. I do not need to belittle myself when that is not going to do me any good. I am going to try to find positive things about myself and my life that can keep me feeling happy and secure. In the past it has helped me to keep a written journal and write about all of the good things I have in my life. I will try to do this again. In addition, I am going to take more pride in my appearance. This means waking up with enough time to shower and do my hair and make up in the morning before work. It means getting my hair cut in the first month of the new year and keeping it looking good. It also means that I will not say bad things about myself, especially to Noah. If I am confident in who I am it will help me to be happier overall.

9. Losing contact – In the next year I am going to try hard to stay in touch with the ones I love by emailing, calling and sending cards more frequently. I have many people who I consider very important that I don’t show that to enough. It’s time to change that.

10. My homebody-ness – I am a home body. As much as I love going out and as much as I do get cabin fever, I love hanging at home with my husband and animals even more. I don’t think this is necessarily a bad thing, but it makes me less social and I know I am missing out on fun times and good people by just letting things pass me by while sitting at home. I am going to make more of an effort to get together with old friends and new friends. I would like a larger network of friends and the only way for me to do that is to just go out!

11. The weight I’ve gained since our wedding – Plain and simple, I have gained approximately 8 pounds since our wedding. It may not seem like much to some, but to me it feels like a lot. I don’t feel like myself and don’t feel that I look my best. In 2011 I plan to lose the weight I’ve gained and continue to keep it off. And hopefully the other things I’ve mentioned that I’m getting rid of will help me to maintain this goal!!
Leave a Reply

