Whoa.

24 Jan

I just deleted…or rather, deactivated my facebook account. It feels good. I have always been too addicted to facebook, the internet, the computer, time wasting, but this year I would like to try to better myself. 2011 has already started off really well and with this being our first full year of marriage, I want to start it out on the right note. One of the ways I’m starting this “project” is to try to be on the computer less, starting with facebook. Facebook is the only thing I use on the internet that is a 100% waste of time. Sure, there are plenty of other things out there that are a waste of time (online games, youtube, etc.) but the only thing I use that has no real value to it whatsoever is Facebook. The other things I do on the computer (weddingbee, blogging, looking up interesting things) are actually somewhat bettering me. Blogging is like an online journal in a way and a creative expression of what’s going on in my mind. Weddingbee might be a time waster, but at least I know that I am (usually) helping out another stressed-out bride. And lastly, looking up interesting things on the internet (the news, the weather, gossip) keeps me up to date and it’s where I get 90% of my information! This doesn’t mean that those other websites don’t waste my time, they do, but just not as much as Facebook does. Over time I would like to spend less and less time on the computer and the first step to that goal is to completely rid myself of one internet avenue. I don’t know whether this will be permanent, but for now I want to see how long I can go without it.

Kind of sick, isn’t it?

One Response to “Whoa.”

  1. Mrs. JYW January 24, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    I was JUST thinking of giving up Facebook for lent in an attempt to ease myself off of it slowly.

    We decided that we are going to give up eating out/take out/etc. but I think I may do this for myself. I’ve been slowly weening off of it. but I’ve really started to realize just how much FB really isn’t necessary and a complete exhaustion of time.

Leave a Reply

