My wish came true!

26 Jan

Remember yesterday how I wished for a snow day? Well, my wish really came true! I woke up this morning like any other day. I had checked the forecast yesterday afternoon and saw that it was supposed to rain all day today. I knew it was going to snow later this evening, but since it was just rain expected for the daytime, I didn’t think anything of it. I got ready for work and was about to leave when I let Nixon in from the backyard and saw the snow covering our deck. It wasn’t much, definitely less than an inch, but in this area you just never know. So I called our weather hotline and lo and behold our offices were closed!!!

Great news, right? Well yes, but also no. You see, since I had thought that it was a rain-only situation I failed to bring my laptop home! I thought I could just use sick time and it would be no big deal until I got a call from my boss telling me that if I didn’t work from home I would have to use vacation time.

SAY WHAT?! That is NOT okay! Considering I just got my vacation hours back up from being in the negative, I am not happy about this.

At this point my options were to A) stay at home and use my precious vacation time or B) drive 22 miles to my office to get my laptop and work from home for the rest of the day. I ended up choosing option B because we are supposed to get 5-10 inches of snow tonight and if the offices are closed again tomorrow I would have had to use another vacation day, which is not something I’d like to do.

So it’s awesome that I’m at home in my PJs….but it was not so awesome that I had to drive 40+ miles today!!

One Response to “My wish came true!”

  1. This Italian Family January 26, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Yay for a snow day!! Sad day that you had to drive so much, though.

Leave a Reply

