Best tuna casserole ever

7 Feb

My apologies dear readers (all 9 of you!) I have been out of commission for a few days. There’s really no excuse but the one I’ll give is that Thursday through Sunday we were doing something or out of town. Anyways, it’s back to business today with one of my favorite recipes of all time. My mom used to make this for dinner while we were growing up and to me it is comfort food. It is really easy to make and I bet you already have several, maybe even all, of the ingredients in your pantry.

What you’ll need:

  • 2 cups pasta of your choice
  • 2 cups shredded cheese of choice (I use cheddar and sharp white cheddar)
  • breadcrumbs/crushed saltine crackers/crushed goldfish crackers
  • broccoli or peas (or any other vegetable you like)
  • one 10.75 oz can of cream of mushroom soup
  • milk
  • 1 can of tuna


What you’ll do:

First measure your pasta, 2 cups and cook per directions on box

While the pasta is cooking mix the remaining ingredients in a bowl.

After you pour the cream of mushroom in, fill the can back up with milk and pour into the bowl

I don’t measure the vegetable – I just put in as much as I’d like

2 cups of cheese is a guideline – I use slightly more

Disclaimer – cats will come running from afar upon opening of this can

 

A few minutes before the pasta is done, preheat the oven to 350 degrees

Once the pasta is done, drain and stir into the mixture

Pour into a glass dish and top with crushed saltines/breadcrumbs (I also like to mix these in for extra texture)

Bake for 20 minutes

Enjoy!!

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “Best tuna casserole ever”

  1. AudzinLuv February 8, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    Yumm, this looks so much better than the Tuna Helper I’m used to. Definitely will try this soon, thanks! πŸ™‚

    • suburbianbliss February 10, 2011 at 12:31 am #

      Hey – I sent you something for the WB card swap – let me know when you get it! And I hope you like this recipe!

  2. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 8, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    I think it’s time for me to try tuna, I NEVER have, I know thats probably so weird right? lol

    • suburbianbliss February 10, 2011 at 12:31 am #

      Not so weird! Tuna is one of my favorite foods – it goes well with so many things! Sandwiches, salads, sushi, etc. THis is a great starter dish for the tuna virgin!

  3. Amanda February 8, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    We’ve been wanting to try tuna casserole lately and I haven’t found a recipe that looks good! I just might have to try this one out! And, um, I’ve never had tuna either!

    • suburbianbliss February 10, 2011 at 12:28 am #

      Omg youve never had tuna!? Do you like fish? Tuna is not overly fishy, especially in this recipe. It is seriously damn good. I hope you guys like it if you make it!!

  4. Meredith February 8, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    I love this recipe – I’ve done it before and it’s wonderful comfort food. Gonna have to repeat it πŸ™‚

    • suburbianbliss February 10, 2011 at 12:28 am #

      Wait! Dont use Saltines…just found out they have transfat in them! You should post about it when you make it!

  5. Mrs. JYW February 10, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    I love this recipe and those pictures are making me drool. 2 more hours of class ’til dinner 😦

    • suburbianbliss February 10, 2011 at 12:34 am #

      Ughh that is too long! What’s for dinner tonight?

Leave a Reply

