Explosives? Too close to home.

3 Mar

I came home to quite the interesting scene today. The street next to ours was littered with cop cars, fire trucks, ambulances and news crews.  They had the whole street blocked off too and a bunch of people were standing on the street corners.

I had no idea what the heck was going on! I asked someone standing on the corner, but they didn’t know either. My first inclination was that someone got shot. I always think the worst. I got home, took the dog out and then immediately put on my tennis shoes to walk up there. When I got to the street there were several people standing on the corner so I asked them what was going on. They said that at about 3PM the police knocked on the door and told them they were evacuating the neighborhood. Apparently, a bunch of explosives were found in the attic of one of the houses on the street!! They had everyone get out of their houses and even kept the nearby kids in school just to be safe. I came out to the corner at about 4:50 and it seemed as though things were wrapping up. However, about 5 minutes after I arrived a news crew started setting up.

 

I watched as she reported live. I had also turned it to Channel 4 when I had first gotten home and recorded the news so I could watch it. (I still haven’t watched it.) About 15 minutes after I got there, the police started to let people back into their houses. Thankfully no one was hurt and nothing exploded. Just makes you think though – do you really ever know what is going on inside your neighbors’ houses? Not that it’s anyone’s business, but you really never know!

2 Responses to “Explosives? Too close to home.”

  1. paws March 3, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    My word! How scary. May I say it looks nice and leafy where you live, very sururbian, hence Suburbianbliss I guess, ha ha.

  2. Morgan March 3, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    Scary, I’m glad nobody was hurt!

    And it’s so true that you might not know what’s going on with your neighbors, a few months back we were greeted by a similar scene with a ton of cop cars in front of our house–apparently one of our neighbors had a ton of guns registered to him and was threatening to start shooting while his family ran out the door. Sadly he committed suicide. Makes me kind of glad that we don’t know our neighbors very well!

Leave a Reply

