Stuck in a rut

21 Mar

In blogging that is. Or rather, not blogging. Noah says that whenever I get really good at something I tend to either get bored or give up. One big example of this is in college when I started making cake balls. No one had ever heard of them and I started making tons of them. At one point we had over 100 cake balls in our freezer. Noah said I could sell them to bakeries and even had a potential buyer lined up. And then I just gave up. I don’t know why…maybe because of a lack of confidence or a lack in motivation. Either way, that was dumb. Now, 3 years later, cake balls are popping up everywhere – even in Starbucks! And I really missed my opportunity. So I guess I’m doing the same thing with blogging. I think what gets to me is I know there are tons of other bloggers out there who are more interesting, more funny, more whatever – and I don’t feel like I can compete. So I figure if my blog isn’t around then people will just move on and find the next better blog. Sounds silly, I know. But I have enjoyed many of the posts I’ve written. Some have been more forced, but most have not. Most have been organic and whatever comes to mind. And I hope by writing about what I like and what I do and what I think that I can at least make someone’s work day a little less boring. Now comes the hard part….getting back into the swing of things. You know it’s time when your mom sends you an email that only has a subject line reading “Time to update your blog.” Thanks Mom…and Noah! I love you both, because without you I would always stop when it feels convenient.

 

3 Responses to “Stuck in a rut”

  1. Mrs. JYW March 21, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Missed you lady! I seriously scrolled through my subscriptions looking for your last post! I am so behind in my reader, it’s horrendous. Can’t wait to read your recent blog entries! 🙂

  2. Laura March 21, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    I think a lot of people get like this. Just take a break when you need to, but don’t give it up completely! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Being a nerd is totally cool « Liz White - March 26, 2011

    […] I guess they don’t like my ramblings over there. What should I blog about? Boy do I know how you feel about being in a blog rut. I’m always stuck in a blogger rut and trying to figure this stuff out. Weddings. I just came […]

Leave a Reply

