DC Bucket List

28 Mar

I’ve lived in the DC area almost my entire life, yet there is still so much that I would like to see and do here. There are tons of great restaurants, museums, sights and hiking trails and I want to experience them all! Some of the things on my list I’ve done before but I’ve enjoyed so much I want to do again. Oh and note to Noah – if you ever want to take me on a surprise date…any one of these things would be an A+ in my book!

1. See the monuments at night
2. Ice skate in the National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden ice rink
3. Eat at VOLT Restaurant in Frederick, MD (where Bryan Voltaggio from Top Chef is head chef)
4.Hike the Billy Goat Trail in Great Falls
5. Have brunch at Perry’s in Adams Morgan
6. go to the Udvar Hazy Air and Space Museum in Dulles, VA
7. Go winery hopping
8. Go to the Eastern Market farmers market
9. Go to an Orioles Game
10. Go to the top of the Washington Monument
11. See a free performance on the Millenium Stage at the Kennedy Center
12. Go paddle boating in the Tidal Basin
13. Go to the Dupont drag race
14. Go to the Cherry Blossom Festival
15. See a movie at the Uptown Theatre
16. Do a guided tour of the National Cathedral
17. Go canoeing on the Potomac or the Shenandoah
18. Go to the Newseum
19. Hike Old Rag
20. Visit Frank Lloyd Wright’s Pope Leighey House in Alexandria
21. Go to the  Mount Vernon distillery
22. Spend a day or weekend in Charlottesville
23. Visit Monticello
24. Eat at Founding Farmers and/or Farmers and Fishers on the waterfront
25. Go to a Nationals Game
26. Go to the drum circle at Meridian Hill Park
27. See something at Wolf Trap
28. Go to the Falls Church farmers market
29. Go to the National Geographic Museum

 

 

This is an ongoing list that I hope to add to with the more time I spend in the area. The one’s that I have done this year will be marked with a strike through.

10 Responses to “DC Bucket List”

  1. potatorunner March 29, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    ahhhhhhh I can’t believe you’ve never been to Eastern Market!

    Also, I’ll meet you for brunch in AdMo any weekend you want, if you give me advance notice. 🙂

    -daydreamwanderer

    • suburbianbliss April 2, 2011 at 4:25 am #

      I have been to the area of Eastern Market but never to the actual flea market!! And I would love to meet you for brunch!! It seems I can never make the bee meetups!

  2. Steph March 29, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    I could just copy list. I’ve lived in the area for almost 3 years now, and have done like 2 of those things. We’re hopefully actually going to see the cherry blossoms this afternoon/evening!

    • suburbianbliss April 2, 2011 at 4:25 am #

      I feel like because I grew up here I havent done as many things because I have felt like its not interesting. But now that Im older I do! My mom and I are going to the cherry blossoms on Sunday!

  3. This Italian Family March 29, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Looks like a fun list! I hope you get it all done!

    • suburbianbliss April 2, 2011 at 4:26 am #

      I hope so too Rach! I saw your cherry blossom post at the Japanese gardens and thats inspired me to go to our Cherry Blossom Festival this weekend!

  4. linnie-me April 1, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Great list! I am also a DC dweller that hasn’t taken advantage of all there is to do here. I have done a few things on the list. The monuments at night tour is phenomenal.

    • suburbianbliss April 2, 2011 at 4:26 am #

      I cant wait to do the monument at night tour! I want to do it when its warm though which seems so far off!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello, April « Liz White - April 4, 2011

    […] I found out it was a tourism thing for Virginia. That sucks. I love the idea of a D.C. bucket list! I don’t think I’m morbid enough to have a real bucket list. I’ve lived in the […]

  2. 2011 in review « Worries and Wisdom - December 30, 2011

    […] actual birthday. The next day we ate lunch at Founding Farmers (which I got to cross of my bucket list!) and saw the National Cathedral. We also saw the MLK memorial, the Lincoln Memorial and the […]

Leave a Reply

