The Name Game

2 Apr

Soo I hadn’t seen this one before but I found it on a new blog I’m reading – Forget Me (not) and I thought it would be fun…for me at least!

1. How did your parents decide on your name?
My mom and I were just emailing about this yesterday. I was named after my great grandmother, my Grandpa’s grandmother, Clara. My Grandpa was raised by his grandmother and my mom says she always knew she wanted a daughter named Clare.

2. Do your initials (first/middle/last) spell anything funny?
My maiden initials  were CVS just like the store. Now I’m CVR and they aren’t as interesting!

3. Did you take your middle name from childhood or did you drop your middle name & take your maiden name as your middle name? (Or if unmarried, what do you plan to do?)
I kept my middle name from my childhood. My name is Clare Victoria and I’ve always loved my first and middle name. Call me narcissistic but my mom did good on this one and I didn’t want to change it! I also have two brothers who will (possibly) have children to carry on our last name.

4. Are you or will you name your children systematically? (ie, same first letter, same origin, etc)
No, I will name my children whatever I want not according to any system. My brothers and I all have first names that are one syllable but I don’t know if my parents did that on purpose or not.

5. Did you decide on baby names as a little girl? Did you stick to them or change your mind?
I have been choosing baby names ever since I can remember. But they always change. I remember at one point being obsessed with the name Tierney. I still think its a beautiful name but I don’t think it would fit with my new last name.Noah and I will name our first son Benjamin Douglas and I also love the name Charlotte for a girl.
6. Does your family have any names that have been passed down through generations?
We don’t have any juniors/seniors type of thing but we have all been named after someone in the family.
7. Do you look at the meaning of the name or just the name itself?
I look at the meaning and the name itself. However I don’t know if a weird meaning would make me reconsider a name!

8. Do you name pets with human names or pet names?
Yes and no. My dog growing up was named Dillon. I like that name for a boy child too! Our current pets’ names are Kiddie, Nixon and Eddie (but we sometimes call him Edward)….Eddie is the only human name to me.

9. Are there any names that you have an affinity or dislike for based on a childhood experience/someone you once knew?
I can never name my child Nate. I can’t get into the reasons on my blog though!

10. What are some of your favorite names and why?
For a girl I absolutely love the name Charlotte. I also really like the name Zooey and Avery even though I know they’re overdone. For a boy I love the name Logan.

2 Responses to “The Name Game”

  1. This Italian Family April 5, 2011 at 3:11 am #

    This was super interesting. I really enjoyed reading this!

    I know what you mean about there being names you could never name your child based on someone you knew with that name in the past. I hear ya there. 😉

    Also, you DO have a beautiful name!

  2. Steph April 5, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out!

    I love the name Zooey – I know it’s super popular right now, and I’m probably in love with it because of Zooey Deschanel, but I’m convinced I’ll name a (possible) daughter that one day!

    Also.. I love the names Clare and Clara – so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

