Fun around town

11 Apr

Well 9 days have gone by since my last post but it’s only because I was waiting for my weekend so I could actually have some fun things to write about! The week itself was fairly uneventful. Pretty much every day stuff. Wednesday night we went to dinner at La Sandia with some friends. It was a random get together but fun nonetheless. All four of us had fajitas and I have to be honest, they were subpar. Noah and I were so disappointed and still craving fajitas that on Thursday we decided to make our own. Noah made chicken fajitas for himself and veggie fajitas for me with peppers, onions and zucchini. They were delicious!!

Friday night we went out with my sister in law and some friends to celebrate her recent engagement!! While her wedding won’t be for a couple years she is very excited (as are we) to be engaged to her boyfriend of almost 4 years. Her boyfriend lives in Charlotte, NC so he wasn’t able to join us but that didn’t stop us from celebrating. I think we were cheersing every 10 minutes or so. It was fun! I also got to see my friend Kate who I haven’t seen in a while. There aren’t many good pictures from the night but here’s a cute one Kate and I took.

Saturday was a great day. We went to dog training for two hours and Nixon did a really good job. After our session I had a surprise date planned for Noah. I decided to surprise him by planning for us to go to two record stores in DC. Noah has been wanting to go to a good record store for a while now so he was very excited when I told him what we were doing! The first place we went was called Red Onion Record and Books. It was located near Dupont Circle on 18th St. This place was pretty small and didn’t have a huge selection of records. It kind of felt like a yard sale with a bunch of records instead of an actual record store. I didn’t get any pictures inside (it wasn’t interesting enough) but I did take this picture of the front of the store and the entry way.

Noah bought his favorite Allman Brothers album from this store. Then we walked over to Som Records on 14th Street. This place was much more awesome than the first one. There was a huge selection of records, the decor was pretty cool and they even had a record player there that you could sample records on to see if you liked what you were buying. I got some good shots of this place. In the first shot, if you see the white door underneath the set of stairs leading up to 1843 – that is the entrance to the store.

And on our way back home I of course had to get a shot to prove I am always a tourist in my hometown..

For dinner I decided that we would try what is acclaimed to be the best NY Style Pizza in the area at Flippin Pizza. They have locations in the DC area and California. We were originally going to eat at the one in DC but decided just to get one to go from the location right near our house. Their pizza was really good but I have to say not the best in the area. The best to me is Tony’s in Manassas. It is seriously melt in your mouth NY style. Heaven.

Last night we had a BBQ with some friends. It was nice enough early on that we were able to eat outside. We had chicken, steak, salmon (for me), salad, zucchini and onion kabobs. It was all really delicious. After dinner we walked into Arlington to a place called Crumbs Bake Shop. We got cupcakes and milk and ohhh my gosh were they delicious. But also filling!!

All in all it was a great weekend! I hope you all had a great weekend too – back to the grind!

5 Responses to “Fun around town”

  1. Amanda @ The Fix-Its April 13, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    Those cupcakes look like the most amazing thing ever. YUM!

    • suburbianbliss April 13, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

      Amanda – they were soo good. But huge!! I could only eat 3/4 of it and then I had to put my napkin over it because I couldn’t look at it any longer!

  2. This Italian Family April 14, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Sounds (and looks) like a great weekend!! 🙂 And a special congrats to your sis in law on her engagement!

  3. Mrs. JYW April 15, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    LOVE CRUMBS!!!!! I’ve been lagging on blogging and my reader as well. Hope all is well with you girl! xo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 in review « Worries and Wisdom - December 30, 2011

    […] of! We went to Culpeper, VA for Noah’s aunt’s annual Easter party and I took Noah on a surprise day date in […]

Leave a Reply

