New York State of Mind

6 May

Tomorrow we are going on our first real trip as husband and wife. I didn’t realize that until right this minute either, but it’s true! Yes, we went to the beach for the weekend the week after we got back from our honeymoon, but since we didn’t actually make it to the beach itself (aka just drank an obscene amount and went to the bar) I don’t really count it as a trip!

But tomorrow, we are off to NYC with my older brother and his girlfriend to visit my friend Kevyn (whom I have known since I was 7!) for her 25th birthday!! We went last year and had an absolute blast – cramming as much as we could into only 2 nights and 2 days in the city. We don’t plan anything beforehand. We just let Kevyn be our tour guide and see where it takes us. The only plan we have is to attend her Tie-Dye rooftop birthday party on Saturday night. I already bought us 2 brand new white t-shirts so we can get our tie-dye on. We leave tomorrow after work and I am beyond excited!! Here is some of the fun stuff we did last year…

Had authentic NY Pizza (and garlic knots – which were amazing)

Walked around Central Park (it was REALLY windy)

Walked to Chelsea Piers and went to The Frying Pan – a bar on a boat!

And drank way too many Coronas

Visited Highline Park – an old subway stop turned into a beautiful raised park


Drove all around town and saw Gramercy


Saw my Uncle’s play “Everyday Rapture” (an awesome show)

And celebrated Kevyn’s birthday at a “Nothing Normal” karaoke party

Even though these pictures show that we did a lot – they only cover about half of the things we did and places we went that weekend! I can’t wait to share my weekend with you once we are back! AND I have been working on some DIY projects (magnets, dry erase board, spray painting and more) that I have wanted to share for awhile but haven’t completed. Well as of next week, all my projects will be done and I can’t wait to show you! I hope you all have a great weekend. And don’t forget that it’s Mother’s Day on Sunday. Even if you can’t be with your mom physically, make sure to let her know that you care about her!!

10 Responses to “New York State of Mind”

  1. Amanda May 6, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Have fun! I’ve always wanted to see New York!

  2. Mrs. JYW May 6, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Have so much fun, Clare! My lil bro lives in Manhattan and I can’t wait to go visit in June with my mom 🙂 Take lots o’ pics and enjoy your first trip as Mr & Mrs!

  3. kelsey May 6, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Ahh, so fun!! It looks like you all had a great time!! Now that you mention it, aside from our honeymoon and visiting family, Sean and I haven’t been on a trip either! Time to plan one.

  4. vixter2010 May 6, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Have fun, I love New York! Have some cupcakes 🙂

  5. Erica May 6, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    Next time you’re coming to NYC, let’s plan a playdate! Have fun this weekend!

  6. Steph May 8, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    Love Highline Park!! I definitely need to go back. Looks like a super fun time 🙂

  7. Kate May 10, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Looks like you had a blast!!!! Happy to have you home though! : )

  8. Amanda @ The Fix-Its May 10, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Enjoy every minute of NYC! It’s such a fantastic city.

  9. Rach @ This Italian Family May 11, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    Looks like you guys had a great time last year! Hope it’s even more fun this year! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 in review « Worries and Wisdom - December 30, 2011

    […] – For the 2nd year in a row we went to NYC for my childhood friend’s 25th birthday. This year we took along my brother and […]

Leave a Reply

