Spring cleaning

2 May

Happy spring all! Yes, it’s been a minute since I wrote my last post, but once again, my dear husband has been getting on my case about writing something. He says that I am letting my readers down. I don’t know about that, but I am working from home today and I’m bored so I thought it would be a perfect time to conjure up a new post!

Things have been going well for us recently. We had been going to dog training and Nixon has done really well. It’s as much about training us humans as it is the dog. Actually, I feel like it might be harder to train the people! But Nixon I have been doing a lot better and feeling more confident and in control when we go on walks. We have also switched to a pinch collar (for walks only) and it has made a world of difference. Pretty sure if someone was pinching me any time I did something wrong I would stop too. I initially thought the pinch collar was a little inhumane, but I’ve done some reading on it and many dog trainers believe that a pinch collar is actually less harmful to a dog’s throat/neck than a choke collar. We don’t use the choke collar at all anymore.

In addition to dog training, we planted seeds for our garden. By we I mean Noah and I just take pictures of the sprouts every day. We planted radishes, carrots, lettuce, spinach, watermelon, canteloupe, onions and sage. Things are definitely starting to pop out of the ground but it will still be a while before we have anything to eat. It’s exciting to watch them grow though! I have been taking a picture of the planters every day to track their growth.

Here’s what it looks like right now…

In other news, I just got back on Twitter. I’m still new to it so I’m learning the ropes but I’m liking it as of yet. If you’d like to follow me (read: I’m begging you to follow me) you can find me there as Clareberrys.

Lastly, we got our tax return check which means that soon we will be booking our vacation for December of this year – I can’t wait to write about it when we finally do! So, what’s been going on with you guys? I’d love to hear how you have been enjoying this wonderful spring so far!

4 Responses to “Spring cleaning”

  1. prewitt May 2, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    Happily the weather’s been great here too 😉 What’s a pinch collar? I only ask as I think we may have to take one of our dogs to training but this may help. Things are hectic here as only 7 weeks to go until wedding day… Eeeeekkk

  2. prewitt May 2, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    Hey, thanks for the link and the info too, i’ll look at that. I have got to admit I am getting nervous but am excited too. I think the nerves is mainly for wanting the guests to enjoy the day too, is that what wedding nerves is? I can’t actually believe it’s me getting married either and it’s the day I’ve dreamt of for ages.

  3. Rach @ This Italian Family May 4, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Glad to hear things are going so well for you so far this Spring!

    Following you on Twitter now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

